{"__v":12,"_id":"564670b1c454ee0d00cbe46e","category":{"__v":10,"_id":"55f0b2b5f3735d0d00692000","pages":["55f0b2b7f3735d0d00692004","55f0b2b7f3735d0d00692005","55f0b2b7f3735d0d00692006","55f0b2b7f3735d0d00692007","55f0b2b7f3735d0d00692008","55f0b2b7f3735d0d00692009","55f0ce3478661c170035e14d","564670b1c454ee0d00cbe46e","564670da56fb450d004100b6","564670eda74cd10d00a3f074","564671218056940d00194224","56467570054d8f0d00bc7700","5646786956fb450d004100c2","564d2a4a2da1982d00b19b8a","5654d9d59347d30d00d7e79d"],"project":"55f0757d4624ec2d00814345","version":"55f0b2b5f3735d0d00691ffe","sync":{"url":"","isSync":false},"reference":false,"createdAt":"2015-09-09T21:17:41.905Z","from_sync":false,"order":1,"slug":"tigerconnect-basics","title":"Basics"},"parentDoc":null,"project":"55f0757d4624ec2d00814345","user":"55f0756a1e63fc37004b8d2b","version":{"__v":9,"_id":"55f0b2b5f3735d0d00691ffe","project":"55f0757d4624ec2d00814345","createdAt":"2015-09-09T22:29:09.118Z","releaseDate":"2015-09-09T22:29:09.118Z","categories":["55f0b2b5f3735d0d00691fff","55f0b2b5f3735d0d00692000","55f0b2b5f3735d0d00692001","55f0bd67d5d8fc0d00ca6f44","55f0cde9d5d8fc0d00ca6f55","563a8a62a8ba320d00106830","563a8ac9a8ba320d00106832","563d410f31f7580d00511e53","563d411de79f670d00a10a5f","563d412a31f7580d00511e54","566a206f74d574170070b640"],"is_deprecated":false,"is_hidden":false,"is_beta":false,"is_stable":true,"codename":"","version_clean":"2.0.0","version":"2"},"updates":[],"next":{"pages":[],"description":""},"createdAt":"2015-11-13T23:22:25.388Z","link_external":false,"link_url":"","githubsync":"","sync_unique":"","hidden":false,"api":{"results":{"codes":[]},"settings":"","auth":"required","params":[],"url":""},"isReference":false,"order":3,"body":"A Group is composed of more than one [User](doc:messaging-users-and-groups) and behaves like a private chat room. When sending a message to a Group, all Users that are part of the group will receive the message. \n[block:api-header]\n{\n  \"type\": \"basic\",\n  \"title\": \"Adding or Removing Members\"\n}\n[/block]\n[Users](doc:messaging-users-and-groups) can be added or removed from a group at any point.  Once removed, they will no longer receive any messages sent to the group and the group will no longer appear in their recent conversations or in any search results.  \n\nSimilarly, a [User](doc:messaging-users-and-groups) can leave a group at any point and will no longer receive new group messages afterward. \n[block:api-header]\n{\n  \"type\": \"basic\",\n  \"title\": \"Replay History\"\n}\n[/block]\nGroups have a boolean flag called Replay History that controls whether new members of the group can see the previous group messages.  \n\n**False**: The default setting for a group is False which means that when a new [User](doc:messaging-users-and-groups) is added to a group, they will only see the messages that are sent afterward.  \n\n**True**:  If Replay History is set to True, that new [User](doc:messaging-users-and-groups) will see all the non-expired messages that were sent before they joined the group.  \n[block:api-header]\n{\n  \"type\": \"basic\",\n  \"title\": \"Group Token\"\n}\n[/block]\nGroups can be addressed by their group token.  You are able to use the token to get information about a group or modify its membership.  See the [/group](doc:group) documentation for an example.","excerpt":"","slug":"groups","type":"basic","title":"Groups"}
A Group is composed of more than one [User](doc:messaging-users-and-groups) and behaves like a private chat room. When sending a message to a Group, all Users that are part of the group will receive the message. [block:api-header] { "type": "basic", "title": "Adding or Removing Members" } [/block] [Users](doc:messaging-users-and-groups) can be added or removed from a group at any point. Once removed, they will no longer receive any messages sent to the group and the group will no longer appear in their recent conversations or in any search results. Similarly, a [User](doc:messaging-users-and-groups) can leave a group at any point and will no longer receive new group messages afterward. [block:api-header] { "type": "basic", "title": "Replay History" } [/block] Groups have a boolean flag called Replay History that controls whether new members of the group can see the previous group messages. **False**: The default setting for a group is False which means that when a new [User](doc:messaging-users-and-groups) is added to a group, they will only see the messages that are sent afterward. **True**: If Replay History is set to True, that new [User](doc:messaging-users-and-groups) will see all the non-expired messages that were sent before they joined the group. [block:api-header] { "type": "basic", "title": "Group Token" } [/block] Groups can be addressed by their group token. You are able to use the token to get information about a group or modify its membership. See the [/group](doc:group) documentation for an example.